Christmas Cookies and Cupcakes


So if you read my blog you’ll know from my post 17 Things Before 2017 that I wanted to do some baking over Christmas. I was very lucky to be given some cake toppers from My Cupcake Toppers for free to review so there was no better time to get cooking!
So first of all I needed to order my cake toppers. The website was really easy and straightforward to use and I instantly selected the ‘shop’ tab. Knowing I wanted to make festive cupcakes, I clicked straight on the seasonal cake toppers section and found ‘Christmas’. I selected ‘Jolly Christmas’ with edible icing. I also was interested  in the feature on the website that allowed me to design my own cake toppers. Feeling like doing a bit of self promotion, I uploaded the banner image I use on my blog. Again I went for edible icing. I was really impressed that the website allow you to upload what ever you fancy having on a cake, from logos, to photos, to drawings someone has done. I think this is a really lovely idea and something that can be really personal and special. There is also the option to have cupcake toppers designed for you in-house if you need a bit of help. As mentioned, I went for edible icing, but they also offer standard and premium rice paper options too. The sizes of the toppers can vary depending on what you are after, and there is also an option to have the toppers pre-cut to make it easier and quicker to get them on your cakes.

The next step was to check my order, select my postage and put it all through! I selected first class standard and was excited for my toppers to arrive! If you’d like to know about postage prices and options, you can find out more here. Before I knew it, my cake toppers had come. I was really impressed with the speedy delivery, especially since they had to be printed and made and sent from Scotland! I was pleased with how they looked and couldn’t believe the quality of the photo upload I had used. I was also really happy that they had thrown in some really sweet mini festive toppers too that I could use on my cakes, a really lovely gesture.




So now it was time to start baking! I had recently picked up the cutest festive baking set and accessories from Homesense and was eager to use them. I decided I was going to make festive cookies and cupcakes. I  made the cookies first. I’m not going to lie, they are definitely not Pinterest worthy in terms of looks, but my gosh they tasted fab! I made double chocolate and milk chocolate holly leaves, angels and bells. Next up were the cupcakes. After baking the cakes and applying the icing, I wanted to put the toppers on. This was fine for the pre-cut mini toppers I had received made from rice paper so could be put straight on. I hadn’t selected pre-cut for the others and was a bit stuck. However, after looking on the website, I found the FAQ section and it gave me the instructions to apply the toppers. Phew, panic over! They definitely looked better than the cookies and the toppers really finished them off. I loved how festive they looked and again they tasted really yummy!





So overall I was really pleased with my baking, and it went down well with the family too when they finally got to taste! As someone who doesn’t really get much chance to bake, I’m really eager to find more time to do so and improve my skills. I would definitely use My Cupcake Toppers again in the future to make my cupcakes look lovely! If you fancy trying this company, I’ve snagged a 10% discount code just for my lovely readers! Just pop in ‘ASSEEN10’ for your money off!

So, what do you think? Have you done much festive baking? Do you have any good recipes?

Until next time…

Jean xoxo

 

 

32 thoughts on “Christmas Cookies and Cupcakes

  1. Robin masshole mommy says:

    That is a super cute and easy way to decorate those cupcakes for Christmas. We made some cookies last night, but we chose to decorate them with frosting and sprinkles – and made a huge mess LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. fortheloveofjars says:

    This cupcake toppers are great. We got some for my daughter’s birthday a few years ago with her name on to go on the cakes the children took home, they looked great. And I love the baking set…Homesense is actually my second home!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. amandahrosson says:

    These treats look delicious!! And that’s so awesome how you’re able to design your own cake toppers!! I plan on doing a little bit of baking myself on Christmas Eve! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

