Christmas Gift Guide 2016

So you might have seen my gift guides on ASOS for under a tenner, but I wanted to make sure I also shared my epic gift guide for this Christmas. Yes, I’m fully aware I may have left it a little late with just 3 days until the big day, but there is always next day delivery or some inspiration for early birthday prezzies for 2017 (or even a little treat for yourself!). It is a totally random mix of goodies, some for him and some for her. So, in no particular order, let’s go!

DISCLAIMER: Some of the items in this gift guide were kindly given to me to try for free. It will be obvious which items these are. All opinions are my own and I genuinely like the items, otherwise they would not have made the gift guide. 

  1. 5 Minute Hair

So you may or may not know, I’m a Pinterest addict. Loud and proud. I pin like a mad woman on a daily basis, whatever takes my fancy. I’m always pinning hair ideas. However, I never seem to go back and look at them when I fancy a different ‘do. Maybe because I’m lazy or think they’ll take me too long and I’m already running late. That is why I had to grab this book when I saw it. Gorgeous hairstyles that I can do in less than 5 minutes? Ok then! I’ve not had this book long and have only tried 1 style but I did do it pretty quickly and it actually looked ok! I think this would be a grab stocking filler for a girl who loves hair but sometimes struggles for inspiration. It’s available in all the usual places, I found it on Amazon for £6.

2. Mermaid Tail Blanket

Totally random, but these seem to be everywhere at the moment. I picked up mine on some random website, but they have really lovely ones on Boohoo and New Look. I don’t know about you, but I am totally mermaid obsessed at the moment. That mixed with always being cold, this is perfect for me! I’m sure many girls would love to receive this in their stocking this Christmas Day.

3. Estella Bartlett Necklace

I have a few necklaces similar to this from Estella Bartlett and I think they are so pretty. I picked up mine from my fave shop Aspire, but they are stocked in many places including online at Estella Bartlett. These necklaces would be great for Secret Santa gifts as they come with a range of messages and designs, so there is bound to be the perfect one for that special friend or relative.

4. Next Party Essentials

So I recently picked up this sparkly combo from Next and I totally fell in love with them. In my old age, I always seem to choose flats over heels for sheer comfort, so these shoes were a total winner for me. And the matching bag is a great clutch, with plenty of room and a chain too for when you want to throw it over your shoulder. The shoes were £30 and the bag was £15. A great combination for the party season for a speical lady in your life!

5. Festive treats

So you may have seen my last post on Christmas Cookies and Cupcakes in which I tried cake toppers from My Cupcake Toppers. I was very kindly sent them for free to review. Although my skills in the kitchen leave a lot to be desired, I really enjoyed my festive baking and my family enjoyed eating them! I think it would be really lovely to give a baked gift to friends and family this Christmas and with these festive toppers you can really go all out! They’re also great all year round, with seasonal toppers and toppers for special occasions as well as being able to upload your own images/photos/drawings/whatever you fancy.

6. Subscription to Beer 52 – The Craft Beer Discovery Club

I was very kindly sent this epic box of beers, much to my husbands excitement, to try for free. Basically, it’s a subscription service where you are sent different craft beers to try every month. The beer is tailored to your taste and personalised using the details you give them in the sign up process. They also send you a cheeky snack and magazine to read whilst you enjoy the beer. There are different subscription prices and choices and you can find out more on their website. I think this would be a great gift for that difficult to buy for man in your life, or perfect for a craft beer lover. I’ll be reviewing this subscription box in the new year so make sure you look out for the blog post. I’ll also be offering a fab discount code!

7. Bio-Oil

img_6557-1

So I was recently sent Bio-Oil to try for free and I must say I love it! It’s made from natural plant oils and vitamins and has been proven to improve the look of scars, stretch marks, dehydrated skin, uneven skin tone, ageing skin… the list is endless. I have quite dehydrated, uneven skin so was eager to give it a go, and it hasn’t disappointed. I love the scent and how a little bit really goes a long way. I will be reviewing it soon, so make sure you look out for the blog post. It’s available from Boots (£19.99 for 200ml). I think this would be great in a pampering box for a pregnant friend, or a little treat for a relative wanting to take care of their skin with this miracle product.

8. Sensationail Polish to Gel Transformer

img_60141

So if you’re a regular reader, you’ll know I recently reviewed this product here: Sensationail Polish to Gel Review. I won’t go into detail, so if you want to know more, make sure you check out this previous post. Put simply, I love this kit and think it would be the most amazing present for someone who loves having nice nails but doesn’t want to be going back and forth to the salon. Its available at Boots for £49.99.

9. Personalised Jewellery from Aspire Style

img_65061

So my favourite shop do the most gorgeous jewellery, and I was very lucky to recently win my very own personalised piece! There are lots of different items at different prices and you can see the whole range here. I had my wedding date and first dance put onto mine to remind me of my special day. There is no end to the ways the pieces can be personalised and I really think they would make the most amazing Christmas surprise for a loved one.

10. The Elephant in the Mirror by Annette Earl

img_62901

I recently received this book to read and review and whilst I am still yet to finish it, I love it so far! It’s an interactive book in which you are able to reflect and it really makes you think. It talks about how we all have parts of our lives that we aren’t happy with and how we can deal with this in productive ways. My review will be out in the new year. Its available here on Amazon both as a paperback and a kindle version. This would be a great festive read and something to really think about going into 2017!

11. Cinematic Lightbox

img_66951

Again, this is something I have seen everywhere these past few months, but something I have found difficult to get hold of. I’m excited to finally have one in my life! I picked it up from I Want One of Those. It comes in different sizes. I didn’t actually have the light switched on for this picture, but I think that’s fine too! I love how I can leave my other half messages and I’m definitely planning on using it to make Instagram-worthy pictures. I think this would make a great Christmas prezzie.

12. Grounded Body Scrub

img_63181

I recently took advantage of The Grounded Body Scrub‘s black friday deal as I was really eager to try their products. They didn’t disappoint! They are cruelty free and mostly vegan, aswell as being full of vitamins, minerals and anti oxidants. Plus, there are lots of different fruity flavours to choose from. You can see from my picks that I’m a bit coconut obsessed! You can pick up the body scrubs from Boots. Just what every girl wants to find in her stocking this year for lovely soft skin over the festive period!

13. Quote Cushion 

img_63301

If you’ve read my blog from the beginning, you’ll know im a bit quote obsessed (see Quotes to live by). So when I recently spotted this on a recent shopping trip, I just couldn’t resist! Here is the link if you want to check it out. I think quote cushions or even personalised cushions are a great Christmas gift for men or women, and are something they can keep for years to come.

14. A reed diffuser

img_61571

I love a reed diffuser. No lighting a candle, no plugging anything into a wall, reed diffusers are just so easy. Plus they give off amazing scents! This one is from Lily Flame and it’s really lovely. However, you can pick up reed diffusers from so many places at really reasonable prices. It’s nice to give festive scents over Christmas, or a scent that you know the recipient is a big fan of. Here’s to a lovely smelling home!

15. Afternoon tea

img_41231

Isn’t afternoon tea just the best? Enjoying a nice cuppa, some sandwiches and some cakes and having a lovely catch up. I was lucky to visit The Langham for afternoon tea back in September and it was absolutely incredible! There are so many places that do afternoon tea, and it would be a really lovely Christmassy treat to take a loved one out for afternoon tea. Plus there are always offers on websites like Groupon so they can fit in with any budget.

So which gift is your fave? Have I given you any inspiration? I hope you have the most amazing Christmas!

Until next time…

Jean x0x0

 

16 thoughts on “Christmas Gift Guide 2016

  1. Mimi B says:

    Oh my gosh, I love how unique these are. That 5 Min Hair book I absolutely MUST have! The Elephant in the Mirror sounds like a book I need to read, and the cinematic lightbox is fabulous! They’re great ideas for any occasion.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. reshamadgmailcom says:

    you had me at #1 my little one has lovely hair but sitting through doing anything with it takes a LOT of time! I would love to see how these could work on her hair! thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

